card making :: popping in by waffle flower

popping in by waffle flower stamps

It seems to be that time of the year again where more than a handful of friends (including one of our daughter’s teachers) are expecting babies to arrive anytime soon.  I played around with the “Popping In” stamp and die sets from Waffle Flower Stamps to create a couple of super cute cards, and our daughter made something to give to her teacher too.

I actually won something via a drawing on a wonderful blog that I follow a few months ago (I was shocked!) and it was a gift card to Waffle Flower Stamps which is how I ended up with these stamps and dies.  It was difficult to narrow down my choice because they offer so many awesome designs, but I really liked how this set has a “popped out” drawer feature.  And although this really is a baby themed stamp set, I think you could sub out the stuffed animals in the drawer by using something else that you may have in your supply stash such as another animal stamp or an object such as a heart.

I decided to go the stamp and marker route with this set at first, mostly also because I had to entertain our daughter who is always eager to test out a new stamp set with me.

popping in stamps by waffle flower

We used a black Memento ink pad with Copic markers to do the stamping and coloring in, and then I cut out the images with a die cutting machine.

cards2

We used foam dot adhesive to stick the drawer holding the stuffed animals onto the dresser so that it really popped up.

cards3

cards5

I adhered the whole ensemble onto the front of the card base, and then took a fine-tipped marker to make a messy border along the edge.  I used a white gel pen to create the border on the dark brown card base.

Another neat feature of these new sets that stamp companies are rolling out is how you can build a scene with the components included in each set. Our daughter loves this method of using stamps and generally doesn’t think about making cards with them, so she often makes a scene on a flat piece of paper.  In this case she was envisioning a baby’s room and added a hand-drawn closet rack to hang some of the outfits.  I love how she incorporated her obsession for mermaids into the scene by adding tails to each outfit.  🙂

cards4

After realizing how many cards I may need to create (and thinking about how I didn’t feel like coloring in that many dresser drawers!), I decided to try a different method and stamped the image onto kraft colored paper instead.  I still needed to create the drawers in the same paper color so I stamped a couple of those as well.

cards6

I stamped some of the drawers onto white paper and colored in everything except for the drawers.  And then I cut the drawers and stuffed animals apart so that I could pair them up correctly before adhering them to the dresser.  It sounds like a lot of work but it really wasn’t too bad.

cards7

cards8

cards10

I think they came out pretty cute, don’t you think?!  I adhered them to some Hero Arts card bases and added a drawn border around each of them to create a frame.

cards11

And here’s the super cute scene that our daughter created for her teacher.  If you’re looking for a fun and unique baby themed stamp set, I recommend this one for sure. Even if you don’t have a die cutting machine or tool, it would be fairly easy to hand-cut the images out of paper. The sentiments that are included with this set are “congratulations” and “popping in to say hi!” so it could definitely be used for a non-baby themed crafting project too.

cards9

 

Supplies Used:

  • “Popping In” stamp set + dies (Waffle Flower)
  • “tuxedo black” Memento ink pad (Tsukineko)
  • various colors of markers (Copic)
  • foam adhesive dots

Leave a comment